TMC15…Thank You

I’m not sure why I originally thought it was a good idea to go to TMC15. In fact, I didn’t have a blog or Twitter at the time…I left those spots blank on the form. It was a few months later I figured that if I was going to fly to California I could probably sign up for Twitter. I do know that MTBoS has been a valuable resource for far longer than I’ve claimed to be part of it. It’s actually why I loved it in the beginning. I could read all these amazing things, try them with my class, realize I was not alone in thinking math teaching needed some making over, and I didn’t have to do anything. Until I did have to do something. I had to jump in. I did it very tentatively. I still don’t tweet much and my blog is sadly dark more often than I’d like it to be. I’m working on that.  But I had to jump. If this is the future of math education, the future is bright and I want to play my part in it.

It will probably take me awhile to process TMC15. I’ll post a more thorough write up about it later. But I wanted to take a moment to say thank you. Even three days into the conference I was wondering why I was there.  I didn’t know anyone, I didn’t *really* belong and I didn’t want to intrude. This was all in my head. The signs to the contrary were there all along. I had amazing conversations will people from day one. Starting with Lynne, who although it was also her first time, made sure to let me know she’d look out for me all the way to Mr. Stadel who didn’t know me and still drove me to an airport 45 minutes away even though he had a full day preparing for another conference ahead of him. There were so many instances like this in between I couldn’t possibly list them all but please know that I am grateful.

To anyone reading, you are already part of this community, even if you don’t think you are. This is a math blog and you are reading it. You don’t have to take the leap (I didn’t for a long time and still got a lot out of it), but please consider it. I have never met so many people willing to help with anything and everything.

Leave a Reply

