End of the Year Reflection — A Few Days Early

We are almost done with the school year…. 3 days! Last night was graduation (amazing) and next week is a field trip and a day of wrapping up, making summer school plans, and finalizing everything.

It has been a crazy (mostly in a good way) 1st year out here in Seattle. I only have one day off before I start my summer teaching assignment, so I suppose its not really the end quite yet. This is the first time ever I’ll be teaching the same classes at the same school next year (There are two new ones to add in as well.) so I’m pumped about that. It is making the end of the year clean out harder. Moving around, if it wasn’t digital or extremely amazing, it was gone. I still feel like that, but I have a box of maybes to go through here soon.

Plans for Summer:

Teaching Summer School (in a Youth Detention Facility. I’m really excited to see how it works out)

Rework/Develop class and unit plans for next year. I love the content/ideas behind a lot of what I did this year, especially with the emphasis on the practice standards and novel problem solving we did. But paper work wise/tracking wise it was not as successful. I am at an alternative high school that brings a lot of unique issues with it. I am excited to  rework things into a format that will make both my life and the students’ learning better.

Go to TMC15! (Woohoo!)

Do some PD/training for the new math classes we are introducing

Hopefully do something fun. I assume the 2 year old will demand it and I certainly need it.

***Big hope for*** Find a way to get some tablets for next year. I’m loving Teacher Desmos and want to encourage that sort of sharing/collaborating, but we don’t have that ability right now. Especially now that I know two of my go to math people are joining the team!

Figure out a plan/goal for the blog next year as well at twitter, and other online mathy things. I barely scratched the surface this year with MTBoS and I want to jump in!

Author:

I am a math teacher at a public, alternative high school school. I’m the only math teacher at my site, so I get to teach it all. This is good. The bad? I have 7 different preps! Twitter: @altmath

Leave a Reply

